The official website of the APQR has been formally released

The official website of APQR (i.e. is formally released for the use of stakeholders in higher education quality assurance.

The formal release of website took place in presence of APQR founder Chairperson Dr. Jagannath Patil, Asia pacific Quality Network (APQN) President Prof. Dr. Jianxin Zhang and Macao Polytechnic Institute (MPI) Vice President Prof. Marcus Im, on the occasion of International Conference jointly organise by MPI and APQN at Macau during 23-24 November, 2016. APQR set up by APQN is a Register of external quality assurance agencies (QAAs) that demonstrated certain thresholds of maturity. An independent external review by peers would be the backbone of the APQR.

The Pilot review was conducted for the Quality Assurance and Accreditation Council (QAAC) in Sri Lanka in June, 2012. The APQR document with a three year-long consultation with various stakeholders was released in special meeting at Macao during 22-23 January, 2015. Thus, APQR came into effect from January 2015, and the first meeting of APQR Council was held in Kunming, China during 17-19 April, 2015. The first formal review for the APQR was conducted for the Fiji Higher Education Commission (FHEC) in Suva during 24-26 June, 2015.

The APQR Council nominated by APQN Board for 2016-2019 comprises following experts:

1 Dr. Jagannath Patil
Adviser, National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)
Immediate Past President, Asia Pacific Quality Network (APQN)
2 Prof. Angela Yung Chi Hou
Executive Director, Higher Education Evaluation & Accreditation
Council of Taiwan (HEEACT)
3 Prof. Dr. Jianxin Zhang
President, Asia Pacific Quality Network (APQN)
Chief Expert of Yunnan Higher Education Evaluation Center (YHEEC),
Director of Research Sector of Higher Education in the Research Institute of Higher Education in Yunnan University and Advisor of Council for CHEA (Higher Education Accreditation) International Quality Group (CIQG) in USA since 2012.
4 Prof. Jeanette Baird
Vice-President, Quality Assurance and Professor of Higher Education, Divine Word University,
Papua New Guinea
5 Libing Wang, PhD
APEID Coordinator & Senior Programme Specialist in Higher Education, UNESCO Bangkok
6 Prof. Colin N. Peiris
Vice-Chancellor/Horizon Campus, Sri Lanka

After initial mentoring of APQR of 2-3 years it is expected that APQR would be an independent entity on lines of European Quality Assurance Register (EQAR). A good number of APQN members have expressed interest to undergo review by APQR and some applications are already under process. The Quality Assurance Agencies (QAAs) interested in International recognition are encouraged to join APQR.